You are here:: Halal-Haram List of Halal Food in Japan

List of Halal Food in Japan

E-mail Print

Source: http://ratriardi.multiply.com/journal/item/2
Provided by Islamic Association of Nagoya

This is the halal list of items made by the result of inquiries at some food companies for the purpose of avoiding intake of haram meat and alcohol which are mixed in food. Regarding to fast foods, we confirmed whether they were contaminated with lard or other animal oil when they are cooked. As regards biscuits, cookies, chips and bread, we checked up on raw materials of shortening, margarine and frying oil that are difficult to tell from indications on the Dackages, and we enlist some examples of the trade names that are safe to be taken. And we also enlist the trade names as for instant noodles, soy sauce, miso and vinegar in which animal extract or alcohol are not used in the process of making. These information are based on telephone contacts between Islamic Association of Nagoya and the head offices of each manufacturing company and factory.

FAST FOOD

Beef and Chicken are haram. Refer to each paragraph about oil that is used in frying as each company prepares different way.

  • McDonald Lard is used as oil for cooking for fish burgers and potatoes. (HARAM)
  • Mos Burger Though vegetable oil is used for cooking, fish and potatoes are fried together with pork and other meats. (HARAM)
  • Lotteria Vegetable oil is used for prawn hamburgers, potatoes and apple pies. The shortening contained in the bread for hamburgers is made by only vegetable oil.
  • Kentucky Vegetable oil is used for fish, potatoes' and apple pies separated from fried chickens. The shortening contained bread for hamburgers is made by only vegetable oil.
  • Mr.Donut Vegetable shortening and vegetable oil are used. But the ingredients used for making most of the donuts are haram. Sorting out the halal donuts resulted only in the following donuts: ANGEL FRENCH, CHOCO CUSTARD FRENCH, STRAWBERRY CUSTARD FRENCH, OLD FASHION, CHOCO OLD FASHION, HOME CUT, CINNAMON PLAIN CURLER (edited 06/09/2011)

BISCUITS and COOKIES

Refer to each paragraph about raw materials of shortening and margarine as each company used different ones. Some of flavors contain a very small amount of alcohol, but there should be no problem as it volatilize during baking process. And we need special attention on half cooked cakes because they are spmyed alcohol for the purpose of prevention against putrefaction.

  • Morinaga (森永/もりなが) Animal shortening (lard etc.) is contained in all biscuits and cookies. (HARAM)
  • Glico (グリコ) Animal shortening (lard etc.) is contained in all biscuits and cookies. (HARAM)
  • Nabisco (ナビスコ) Animal shortening is contained regarding to the things that are indicated as just 'shortening' or 'margarine'. (There is no problem when it is indicated as 'vegetable shortening' or 'vegetable margarine'.) Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Premium cracker
    • Tea Time
    • Picola, etc.
  • Fujiya (フジヤ) Animal shortening is contained in some biscuits and cookies. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Country Maam (edited 06/09/2011: HARAM - They use buta as nyuukazai ingredient)
    • Mrs.Garette
    • Lemon pufft', etc.
  • Tohato (とはと) Animal shortening is contained in some biscuits and cookies. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Karasumugi Cookie (Almond, Chocochip)
    • Harvest (Almond)
    • Salty Sesame
    • Salty Butter etc.
  • Meiji (明治) Animal shortening is contained in some biscuits and cookies. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Butter Cookie
    • Honey and Butter Cookie
    • Fruit sandwiched Cookie
    • Jam sandwiched Cookie
    • Rich & Rich, Calcuit. etc.
  • Meiji Mcbity Only vegetable shortening is used. Typical trade names are as follows;
    • Digestive Biscuit
    • Chocolate Biscuit
    • Cheddar Cheese, etc.
  • Lotte (ロッテ) Only vegetable shortening is used. Typical trade names are as follows;
    • Pie-no-mi
    • Chococo
    • Koala-no-March, etc.
  • Nisshin (ニッシン) Only vegetable shortening is used. Typical trade names are as follows;
    • Butter Cocconut
    • Butter Cocconut Chocolate, etc.
  • Bourbon No reply in detail. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Rumand
    • Silvenu
    • Choco & Coffee
    • Doubutsukko-no-Yume, etc.
    • Butter cookies are halal while chocochips cookies are haram since they contain buta a nyuukazai. (edited 06/09/2011)

BISCUITS FOR BABIES

Refer to each paragraph about raw materials of shortening and margarine as each company used diffbrent ones. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows.

  • Wakodo Animal shortening is contained in all biscuits and cookies. (HARAM)
  • Garber Animal shortening is contained in some biscuits and cookies. Trade names in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Yasai-Boro
    • Milk Biscuit
    • Cheese Biscuit
    • Doubutsu Biscuit
    • Tamago Biscuit, etc.
  • Q-P Only Vegetable shortening is used. Typical trade names are as follows;
    • Yoiko-ni-nare Awa-Boro
    • Yoiko-ni-nare Hie-Ring
    • Milk Biscuit
    • Caloium Yasai Biscuit
    • Tamago-Boro, etc.

CHIPS

Though vegetable oil is used mostly for frying oil, we need special attention on meat (chicken, beef and pork) extract. Examples in which only vege-table raw materials are used are as follows.

  • Glico (グリコ)
    • pocky
    • plits (Roast, Pizza), etc.
  • Nabisco (ナビスコ)
    • Petit Corn
    • Chip Star, etc.
  • Calbee (カルビー)
    • Kappa-Ebisen
    • Potato Chips
    • Sapporo Potato, Vegetable etc.
  • Meiji (明治)
    • Carl (Cheese)
    • Pick Up, etc.
  • House (ハウス)
    • Tongari Corn
    • Jack, etc.
  • Koikeya
    • Polinky (Mild Corn)
    • Karamucho etc.
  • Tohato
    • Yaki-ika
    • Yaki-ebi
    • Karapurco
    • Nagewa
    • Potaco, etc.

BREAD

Refer to each paragraph about raw materials of shortening and margarine as each company used different ones.

  • Yamazaki (ヤマザキ) Animal shortening is contained regarding to the things that are indicated as just 'shortening' or margarine'. Animal oil is used in almost all the breads in some or other way. Either as ingredient or for the purpose of greasing the baking trays. No Yamazaki bread is suitable for muslims. (edited 06/09/2011) (There is no problem when it is indicated as 'vegetable shortening' or 'vegetable margarine'.) Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Sandwich Bread
    • Double Soft Light
    • Sun Royal, etc.
  • Fuji (富士) Animal shortening is contained in some bread. Examples in which only vegetable raw materials are used are as follows;
    • Asassam, etc.
  • Shikishima Only vegetable shortening is used. Typical trade names are as follows;
    • Soft & Soft
    • Sonomamma-Toast
    • Fancy Brown, etc.

INSTANT NOODLES

Most of instant noodles contain meat (especially pork) extract. But there are some in which meat extract is not contained as follows;

  • Nisshin
    • Nisshin Yakisoba
    • Donbei-Kitsune (Mini)
  • Toyo-suisan
    • Maruchan Yakiudon (Sauce)
    • Akai-Kitsune
    • Midori-no-Tanuki
  • Sugakiya
    • Tempura-udon
    • Yakiudon (Sauce)

SOY SAUCE (醤油/しょうゆ)

Alcohol breaks out during the fer' mentation process. In addition, alcohol is mixed for the purpose of prevention against putrefaction mostly. Soy sauces in which alcohol is not contained as raw material are as follows;

  • Kikkoman
    • Tokusen Marudaizu-shoyu
  • Sanjirushi
    • Mezacc Jokyu-shoyu
  • Ichibiki
    • Osashimi-damari
  • Yamashin
    • Shiro-shoyu
  • Marushima
    • Usukuchi-shoyu
    • Sashimi-shoyu

MISO (味噌/みそ)

Alcohol breaks out during the fermentation process. In addition, alcohol is mixed for the purpose of prevention against putrefaction mostly. Miso in which alcohol is not contained as raw material are as follows;

  • Ichibiki
    • Mutenka Kokusan Mame-miso
    • Mutenka Awase-miso
  • Maruman
    • Mutenka Nama-miso
  • Marusan
    • Kokyu Akadashi-miso Kaiseki

VINEGAR (酢)

Though alcohol breaks out during the fermentation process, they says it should be vanished at the stage of being produced. Vinegar in which alcohol is not contained as raw material are as follows;

  • Mitsukan
    • Jun Korne-su
    • Jun Genmai-su
    • Jun Ringo-su
    • Sushi-zu
  • Marushima
    • Shizen-su
  • Uchibori
    • Honzukuri Kome-su
    • Jun Ringo-su

OTHERS

We need attention on;

  • Mirin (みりん) ( contains alcohol less than 1% ~ 13%)
  • Gelatin (ジェラティン) (produced from animal bones)
  • Piasma (produced from serum of pigs) on indications of any food.


Share artikel ini di berbagai situs jejaring sosial: